Billy Davis Fired

Update: 10:08am — It’s official. This according to Matt Maiocco.

Billy Davis was fired this morning after two seasons as defensive coordinator for the 49ers, a team spokesman said. Niners coach Mike Nolan also fired defensive line coach Gary Emanuel.

The most talked-about candidate to replace Davis as defensive coordinator is assistant head coach/linebackers Mike Singletary. While elevating Singletary to defensive coordinator is a possibility, Nolan will consider other candidates.

07:25am — According to Damon Bruce, a sports personality on KNBR, Billy Davis will be relieved of his duties some time today. This should come as no surprise since it was reported by Pro Football Talk back in October.


We have contacted one of our sources in this matter and at this time Nolan has not spoken with Davis so this is all just specualtion. And as of this morning KNBR is not reporting what Bruce mentioned last night. The source feels that someone in the 49ers organization whispered in Bruce’s ear and this is how it came about. Also we asked if Davis were fired, who would be likely candidates. The thought is it would be someone that Nolan has worked with in the past, someone familiar with Nolan’s style of coaching. Possibly someone like Donnie Henderson who was the DB coach when Nolan was with Baltimore. Asked about Singletary being a possibility it is unlikely since Nolan likes Singletary in the role of assistant head coach where he has input over the entire team and not just in one area. Again this is all specualtion. When we get more of a definitive answer we’ll let you know.

~ by 49ersNews on January 3, 2007.

49 Responses to “Billy Davis Fired”

  1. JIM MORA JR!

  2. dom capers.now that nick saban is in alabama.3-4 defensive coach!!!

  3. i like donnie henderson this year, since we need help with our secondary.but i like dom capers to if he is avalible.plus monte kiffin is avalable to.but tampa runs a cover 2 defense…

  4. I knew this would happen, thats Why i brought up the jim Mora Jr scenario.

    Mike Singletary was a helluva linebacker back in his day, but Im not sure if that’ll translate into him being a good Defensive coordinator.

  5. I agree we need somebody in there that’s going to be promising but I’m not sure about dom capers either or maybe I need to be reminded about what he’s done because when he was the texans head coach I know they had a defensive coordinator but he still had to agree to the calls and they was losing.

    So they need to go over this carefully and pick the right coach like the did with norv turner for the offensive coordinator position.

    And the same for picking a receiver or two and the secondary but I’m going to be honest with all of ya’ll I know he made progress and all but I’m still not comfortable with alex smith so maybe besides him and trent dilfer we need to pick a good QB in the draft and look at free agents because dilfer is up there in age and we need for our QB position to be one of the most solid I mean look at garcia I knew it wasn’t a good idea to let him go when we did and once again the fuckin eagles seems to be picking up our players besides the raiders and using the west coast offense they might as well be called the fuckin forty eagles or the eagle niners which might I add that bill walsh is the creater of the west coast offense.

    I know garcia is up there in age to but we had him and if he would had stayed then he could have been the old head and bring in a solid young QB like Bret Favre being the old he but not Aaron bum ass Rogers being the solid young QB damn sure somebody else!

  6. Switch Mike singletary to the D-Line coach and bring in Jim Mora Jr as the D-Coordinator!

  7. get real, jim mora jr. is not coming back to sf. singletary makes sense.

  8. dom capers on both head coaching jobs he has had. they were both expantion teams.and he was always a good defensive coach.you think jim mora is going to come back your nuts.thats like taken a step back.i could see him going to the dolphins or another HEAD COACHING JOB or just take a year off.if he does come here i would be VERY SURPRIZED.

  9. baaqi is an idiot… he must be like 11 years old

  10. yeah I know,baaqi what do you expect, payton manning!!did you not watch the broncos game!! he only threw one pick and it wasn’t his fault.so baaqi do us all a favor and kick yourself in the nuts.or in oyur case, vagina.

  11. there was some talk of dion sanders becoming a head coach.

  12. Are you high…what has Jim Mora ever done that was successful. I can live with Singletary, but realize if he is successful then he will get a head coaching job within the next two or three years. He was interviewed for jobs when he was still our linebackers coach. I know that Nolan is going to pick up somone good, but not Jim Mora Jr…he didn’t make us that much of a defensive powerhouse. I don’t know why we would want him here. Firing our d-coordinator needed to happen, but in turn we also need to get the right person for the job. We are going to be using a bunch of our picks and cap space on defense this year so we need someone who knows how to shape young talent and motivate existing talent to believe in the system.

  13. Besides…if the Washington Huskies stay on course the way they have then Mora is going to be the next head coach there.

  14. Jim Mora Jr? Are you an idiot?!? Were you watching our defense when Jim was here?? Dumbass. Hell no to Mora.

    Dom Capers sucks as a HC but he rocks as a defensive coach. Hopefully we get someone good.

  15. there have been rumors of romeo crennel,being released,i dont know if thats true but he is a 3-4 defensive coach.

  16. that would be really awsome!if we could choose between dom capers and romeo crennel.

  17. Maybe Jim Mora isnt the best choice to be our Defensive coordinator but he is nowhere near as terrible as some of you make him out to be. He took no named players like Jamie Winborn, Ahmed Plummer, Lance Shulters etc. and SCHEMED them into a competitive defense.The reason our defense was ranked so low during the Jim Mora Jr era was because injuries plagued the roster. What other teams needed to put players like Julian Peterson at Safety or even START their practice squad players, due to the lack of depth?

    Look at those players now, Ahmed PLummer retired, Jamie Winborn is a nobody at Tampa Bay, Jason Webster is terrible, Mike Rumph, a nobody; the list goes on and on. In fact, if he is as terrible as some of you guys make him out to be, Why do you think he was hired as the Falcons HeadCoach in the first place? Granted hes doing a terrible job now…but he did more for the 49ers then some give him credit for.

    Once again, Mike Singletary is great, but I would rather have an experienced, proven defensive coordinator. That, plus the new players we acquire through free agency/the draft, will be the difference whether we make the playoffs or not next year. Its just an opinion, but I feel strongly about it.

  18. seems like every bodies has there own pipe dream!

  19. I think nolan should keep the coordinating job to himself, i mean him and singlatery were awesome in baltimore, so he might as well coach defense and let turner take care of the offense, but if we have to hire a coordinator, we should hire Dom capers

  20. Big M First of all they was suggestions like everybody else suggest things on here 2.PUSSY I AIN’T ELEVEN YEARS OLD I’M PROBABLY OLDER THAN YOU AND PROBABLY BEEN A NINERS FAN LONGER THAN YOU THINK YOU WERE A NINERS FAN, 3.I don’t get on here calling people names and shit don’t call me no names dickhead I had to snap on a mutha fucka before about shit like this not to mention I don’t get on here to call people names and shit I see some cats that get on here and call each other names seems like they know each other AND YOU DONT FUCKIN KNOW ME TO CALL ME AN IDIOT!

    And JAY CUTLER IS KEITH LEWIS BITCH WHO EVER THE FUCK YOU ARE ONCE AGAIN IT WAS A SUGGESTION AND YOU DON’T KNOW ME EITHER YOUR THE ONE WITH THE VAGINA ANY TIME YOU PUT SOME SHIT LIKE THAT AS YOUR NAME AND CALL PEOPLE NAMES YA’LL SOME NUT ASS MUTHA FUCKAS ON HERE WE CAN’T EVEN TALK NINERS FOOTBALL ON HERE WITHOUT SOME CHILDISH SHIT GOING ON LIKE MY MAN EVERYBODY GOT THEIR OWN PIPE DREAM I’M NOT SAYING BRING IN MORA ON THE DEFINITE I’M JUST SAYING HE’S BEEN HERE BEFORE.

    ANOTHER THING MUTHA FUCKAS TALKIN BOUT HIM COMING BACK IS LIKE TAKIN A STEP BACKWARDS WELL ART SHELL WAS BROUGHT AND CAME BACK HE FUCKED UP AND THE STILL TALKIN BOUT KEEPIN HIM SO NIGGAS AIN’T SAYIN SHIT FOR REAL.

    I DON’T GIVE A FUCK WHO THEY BRING IN AS LONG AS THEY GET THE JOB DONE AND FOR NIGGAS THATS TALKIN ALL THAT BULLSHIT TPO REMIND YALL DICKHEADS WHEN MORA LEFT IT WAS ALL ON SPORTS CENTER THAT THEY SHOULD HAD HIRED HIM AS THE HEAD COACH BEFORE THEY HIRED NOLAN AND ANOTHER THING YOU FAGOT ASS NIGGAS I WASN’T THE FIRST ONE TO MENTION MORA AND NOT THE LAST SO FIND MY MAN WHO SUGGETED MORA FIRST AND CHEW HIM OUT AND GET OFF OF ALEX SMITH DICK I LIKE ALEX SMITH TO THATS WHY I SUGGETED IF THEY GET NUMBER 1 RECEIVER THAN GET A REAL ONE SO HE COULD GET BETTER.

    JAY CUTLER IS KEITH LEWIS BITCH YOU ALL ON HIS DICK ,OH HE THREW ONE INTERCEPTION AND IT WASN’T HIS FAULT WHAT THE FUCK YOU’RE HIS BITCH OR PUBLICISTS GET OFF HIS DICK YOU PROBABLY GOT HIS POSTERS ALL OVER YOU WALLS AND SHIT PROBABLY FOUND NAKED PICTURE ON THE WEB THAT HE MIGHT HAD TAKIN FOR CHICKS AND YOU GOT IT ON YOUR WALL, OR WHAT YOU GOT A FATHEAD OR SOMETHING YOU FUCKIN PRISSY BITCH.

    I’M NOT GOING TO GET ON HERE AND GO FOR A WAR OF WORDS SO IF YALL LITTLE YOUNG ASS NIGGAS GET ON HERE AND TALK SHIT THEN DON’T LOOK FOR ME TO RESPOND I GOT BETTER SHIT TO DO THAN TO ARGUE WITH YALL DICKHEADS AND IF YALL KNOW SO MUCH THAN WHY DON’T YALL MUTHAFUCKAS BECOME THE D-COORDINATOR AND ALEX SMITH BITCH WHY DON’T YPU BECOME HIS WATER BOY OR HIS LITTLE MAN AND JUMP ON HIS DICK AND SWING I’M OUT AND I AIN’T COMING ON HERE UNTILL NIGGAS GROW UP AND ACT LIKE MEN AND STOP GETTIN ALL EMOTIONAL AND SHIT BECAUSE PEOPLE HAVE THEIR OWN SUGGETIONS AND OPINIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. i am laughing my a$$ off,look who is getting all emotional.sound like someone(baaqi) woke up with a dirty tampoon and forgot to change it.you dirty pickle smoocher.

  22. Wow, he was pretty pissed off.

    All I can say is, I love making fun of people more than anyone I know and I am an opinionated son of a bitch, but even I think it’s lame to critisize fellow Niner fans. That’s where I draw the line…and that’s it. I’d shit on my family before I’d shit on fellow Niner fans.

    But at the same time, it’s kinda lame to leave a really long, capatilized statement to prove a point. I think everyone would get the point if you just put something like, “I think you misunderstood me” or something like that not, “Fuck all ya’ll fuckas!”

    As Martin Lawrence frequently said, “Can’t we all just get along?”

  23. I think all his statements are lame… they make niners fans look dumb

  24. PISSSSSSSSS DICKHEAD SHIT TALK FOOTBALL AND ACT LIKE MEN FUCKIN IDIOTS OH YEAH DO YALL SEE THIS SHIT ABOUT DONNIE HENDERSON NOW WHAT I BET YALL THINK THAT’S A GOOD IDEA AND I SEE IT’S EASY TO TALK SHIT WHEN NIGGAS AINT GOT TO EVER SEE THE MAN NIGGAS IS CALLIN NAMES JUST LIKE KIDS I’M PROBABLY GOING BACK AND FORTH WITH FUCKIN KIDS OR TEEN AGERS YALL ACTING JUST LIKE FUCKIN KIDS STUPID MUTHA FUCKAS BE A MAN AND GIVE A REAL NAME HIDEING BEHIND FUCKIN MOVIE CHARACTERS AND SHIT YALL TALK MORE SHIT AND CALL NAMES THAN TALK FOOTBALL BITCH ASS NIGGAS ONCE A AGAIN GROW THE FUCK UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  25. you shore your not eleven.you cant fix what you dont igknowledge..and im white and over 30…..????

  26. What the hell? He’s still pissed and calling people out…Jesus.

  27. there are mental hospitals and sanatariams that could help

  28. I guess I just don’t see the big deal. It’s a forum…seriously. There are bigger things out there worth punching a wall about.

  29. baaqi,are you calling people out because they have there own opinion or because you think everybody should have youres.

  30. you know what would be really messed up if atlanta fired jim mora jr to hire his dad.

  31. In reference to (Brandons) comment:

    “I’d shit on my family before I’d shit on fellow Niner fans.”

    We need more people like you my brotha. hahah, thats a TRUE fan right there. 49er Faithful baby! Right on.

  32. yeah…. i think you could probably shit on other things before you shit on your family though… take baaqi’s face for example

  33. anyway…… hope we get a good replacement…..

  34. and on a lighter note….is that Brande Roderick, the ex playmate doing the add in a 49er half shirt for Linesmaker football betting to the right of this page?

  35. Uuuhhh, who cares, shes hot

  36. Yo yall most of yall on here is some childish dues’no I don’t want nobody to have my opinion and when I said nigga that goes to show what my man said about being over thirty and white (THE NAME NIGGA CAN APPLY TO ANYBODY THAT’S IGNORANT AND IT DON’T APPLY TO JUST BLACKS SO THAT GOES TO SHOW WHERE YOUR MIND IS ARE YOU RACISTS DOG CAUSE THATS WHAT IT SOUNDS LIKE).

    No I’m not calling nobody out on here and if yall read what I said than you would see that I don’t call anybody names on here regardless of what I think about somebody’s comments.

    If anybody feals like I was calling them out then don’t call me no names I would like to holla at yall about the niners like a family of fans and like men and women if they come on here too cause names can start a whole lot of problems and like I said I don’t call names so if I don’t know you then yeah it would be a problem.

    I aint got no control over what anybody thinks says or types and I don’t care to but if I dont call you names then don’t call me none.

    Yeah I snapped last night cause if anybody thinks that the jim mora jr comment was wrong even though if yall look on here I was’nt the fisrt to suggest it yall started calling me names and shit and I’m not havin that plain and simple but at the same time I don’t know everything.

    I would like to holla at yall about uor niners I’ve been a niners fan for 25 years and I’ll go to the grave a niners fan and I think it’s a lot of us on here that feels the same I aint got no beef with yall just don’t call me no fuckin names.

    And if I don’t know what I’m talkin about in some of yall opinions that school me I me we get on here to say what we think and give our opinions and say what we would’nt mind seeing and the jim mora jr comment was just that even I was’nt the first to say I hate I even mention that mutha fuckas name now because it started some shit.

    I don’t know yall like that but I love yall as niners fans and I would think that if yall feel like I ‘m wrong about some shit than correct your your niner brother but not all crazy and shit like if I was a niners fan and got on another blos and said shit like the dude that came on here and was talkin all that raiders shit and yall didn’t even chew him the fuck out like that and he was on here talkin about how they was going to kick our niners asses and all kinds of shit and now that I think about if cats had they little word like fuck the raiders and shit but DID’NT CALL HIM NO FUCKIN IDIOTS AND SHIT AND AIN’T COME AT HIM LIKE TAHT WITH ALL THE OTHER BULLSHIT CATS SAID I’M SUPPOSE TO BE LIKE FAMILY TO YALL EVEN THE WHITE DUDE THAT MADE IT HIS BUISNESS TO SAY HE WAS WHIT CAUSE I SAID NIGGA I WOULD LIKE TO SEE WHAT HE GOT TO SAY ABOUT THAT WHAT YOU PREDJIDICE DOG?

    But ahhh no harm done I guess to some of yall I said the wrong things so yall tell me who in a list of names would like to see become the defensive coordinator, who you would like to see be the d-line coach and if we don’t lose singletary then who should be linebackers coach GO NINERS!

  37. baaqi I’m wondering how long does it take U to write all that shit??

  38. i would like mike singletary to be our Deffensive coach i mean he was a great linebacker,so why dont we give him a chance to be a D coach???????

  39. yo I love that!! baaqi we all have our own opinions and have you ever heard of freedom of speech?you do prove a good ponit though,niners fans should respect each other,and for the dude who said I’d rather take a dump on my sister than a niner fan, your a true fan bro.we all keep bitching at eachother,you know who else’s fans fight and bitch at each other?raider fans,I know you don’t wanna be like no gay biker raider fanz.so yo baaqi we all have our opinion,and don’t get pissed if we disagree wit you

  40. yo baqqi don’t be hatin on jay cutler is keith lewis’ bitch, I know you got posters on your wall of alex smith,and I know damn sure if alex smith asked you to be his water boy you would be,hell I would.I would be frank gore’s water boy to

  41. yo let’s just keep sayin stuff to baaqi to keep gettin him pissed off.

  42. yo baaqi writes like a caveman,he types fragments of words.I counted the word nigga like 42 times in his sentence

  43. I ain’t on it like that yall I’m glad you’ve seen my point brokeback and that’s all i was trying to say I did get pissed but yall making me laugh yall some crazy dudes man I was’t getting pissed cause everybody had their opinions and disagreed it was just the name calling.

    It just seemed like everybody got pissed at me about what was a thought and not even a opinion but it’s all good man I rather get to know yall dudes than to war with my niner brothas and I did say nigga like 42 times I was just pissed and I’m trying not to get pissed like that no more.

    Yall some crazy dudes yo yall making me laugh that’s what’s up!

  44. i was just ffin wth ya baaqi, anybody who is a niner fan is my friend

  45. That’s what’s up like I said I love ya’ll like family on here 25 years I’ve been a 49ers fan 25 years that’s over 2 decades
    sometimes it feels like I’m the only true niners fan here.

    I’m so much of a diehard niners fan that my mom lets me know that a 49ers game are being televised just in case I didn’t know and I’ve punched wholes in walls over the years when we losed games especially the ones we shoundn’t have lost like those playoff games against the giants,dallas,greenbay and atlanta but I grew out of that shit.

    Am I crazy or that shows how much I love the 49ers?

  46. baaqi no ur not crazy, I use to do the same thing to
    niners 4 life

  47. paraqdise pcgame walkthrough

  48. Hi all!

    Great ssite!! Just make an order from this company?Nice site!! – http://www.globalsteroids.com
    sorry if there is already a thread for this i did not see it…

    See you

  49. Hello! Help solve the problem.
    Very often try to enter the site, but says that the password is not correct.
    Regrettably use of remembering. Give like to be?
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
