Nolan Passes on Campo

Dave Campo will not be the next defensive coordinator for the 49ers. Mike Nolan decided Wednesday not to fill his vacancy at defensive coordinator with Campo.

“I don’t think he’s ready to make any kind of decision,” Campo said Wednesday after the North squad’s practice for the Senior Bowl in Mobile, Ala. “I think he feels like he’s a little bit rushed and doesn’t want to do that. I don’t have anything to report, other than it’s status quo.”

When asked if he thought joining the 49ers’ staff was still a possibility, Campo answered, “I would say, at this point, no. I think I’m going to move on.”

No word yet on if Nolan plans to setup anymore interviews with other candidates, or simply promote Singletary. The saga continues…

~ by 49ersNews on January 24, 2007.

42 Responses to “Nolan Passes on Campo”

  1. This sucks. Hopefully we get someone great.

  2. i said it yesterday,the niners should hire mike singletary instead of dave campo!its a copy cat league. they said it on NFL LIVE yesterday(im not saying we are cheap or anything like that).but hiring young coaches for cheaper and is the new thing.we hired mike nolan!ask last years young coaches inthe jets or the saints.this year its the steelers and raiders.i know im talking about head coaches.but there asistance coaches are young too.

  3. yeah but taking young coaches is a risk. I dont want to take outdated coaches either, but some experience would be nice.

  4. Nolan is starting to piss me off now , he didn’t make a hard push at lebeau, it’s possible if norv is offered this job in dallas then nolan might let him slip away right when alex smith is starting making progress, and he just let campo go and norv had his back.

    I’m not exactly saying that he should had hired campo but he’s putting it out there like he was going to make a big push for lebeau and didn’t and we don’t have a defensive coordinator and possible might not have a offensive coordinator and expecially when we just got norv turner.

    How are the niners going to ever get better if nolan and york keep fucking around like this is not a serious thing.

    THIS IS THE 49ERS GOD DAMNIT AND THEY’RE JUST ACTING LIKE THIS IS NOT THE TEAM TO NOT ONLY WON 5 SUPERBOWLS BUT THE FIRST TO DO IT, NOLAN AND YORK IS REALLY GETTING ME FUCKIN HEATED!

  5. calm down its not like we’re hiring art shell lolz

  6. i agree with THE REAL BAAQI.the way mike nolan has gone about this seems like coaching the seniorbowl is more inportant than finding a defensive cordinator.because usually if you release some one.you usually have someone else better in mind that would be better for the team.what i am trying to say is,it just seems there isnt alot of efort going on in finding a defensive cordanator and seems like we are waiting for someone elses left overs.

  7. Just because the rags aren’t posting Nolan’s daily intinerary doesn’t mean Nolan is making a serious push for a new DC. For some reason if ESPN isn’t reporting it or Maicco’s blog hasn’t reported it then some you guys come to the conclusion that nothing is being done. Don’t you think Nolan knows LeBeau is awesome, but he knew the Steelers weren’t going to let him slip away. I also can’t understand some of you who question why Nolan is coaching the Senior Bowl. Are you against a coach doing everything possible to improve his next draft, and the way to do it is being more informed which is exactly what Nolan is doing. Have faith, Nolan find a the best DC available. I think today the Niners are focused on retaining Norv and their probably setting up a new contract. So relax studs, Nolan knows what he is doing. And in regards to York, how many times do you guys have to hear that York has handed all authority to Nolan. York is not looking for a DC, he’s trying to build a stadium with 800 million of his own dough. Thanks for reading my thoughts.

  8. And that’s exactly one of the things that I’m trying to say about getting someone else leftovers.

    Snowman I’m trying to stay calm about this brotha, but there’s not many good coordinators left and that’s another point I’m trying to make.

    Like nolan said, he wants somebody that has experience in being a defensive coordinator and I think we all want a coordinator that is proven and that we’ll all be happy with but it seems like there’s not to many good choices left.

    I’ve been calm since our last superbowl which was the 94-95 season and I have a frame on my wall of that superbowl with pictures of (Steve Young, Deion Sanders,and William Floyd) on the left side and (jerry Rice Ricky Watters and Tim Mcdonald) on the right and since then we went down hill untill now.

    These anaylist and everybody else forgot who the hell the 49ers are and if Nolan and York keep fucking around then we won’t have a solid coaching staff and what? it’ll be another 12 to 13 more years till we see another championship?

    We all can’t be conservative about this and the organization damn sure can’t be conservative,I just want the niners to get back to not one of, but the elite team like they once were and we all can be a happy ass niner nation and not talk about what could be and draft picks to improve to a wining team cause we’ll already be there and watch us win championships like we use to.

    I’m use to watching football when the teams were really talented and sports use to be real to the point where you could’nt perdict who’ll win, BUT NOW THIS SHIT IS PERDICTABLE AND THE LEAGUE WILL PUT WHO EVER THEY WANT THERE (LIKE PAYTON MANNING FINALLY GETTING TO THE SUPERBOWL).

    THE FUCKING SCRIPT WAS WRITTEN HE NEVER COULD BEAT THE PATRIOTS AND NOW ALL OF A SUDDEN THEY PLAY THEM IN THE AFC CHAMPIONSHIP GAME AND TOM BRADY WENT FROM MR CLUTCH TO THROWING A INTERCEPTION, IT’S ALL BULLSHIT AND I’M NOT GOING TO GET STARTED ON THE SAINTS BUT IT WAS BEAUTIFUL TO WATCH THE EAGLES GET PUT OUT BY THE SAINTS!

  9. BAAQI is Nolan’s butt buddy. That’s why he KNOWS Nolan didn’t push hard for LeBeau. See, BAAQI is impaled on Nolan which is why (unlike the rest of us) BAAQI knows:

    1.) We didn’t push hard for LeBeau : completely disregarding that someone of LeBeau’s age will not want to uproot himself from the East Coast for the West Coast.

    2.) We are letting Norv slip away : completely disregarding talks of contract talks with Norv to make sure he stays, the fact that dumb ass ESPN analysts listed Norv second to last in a long list of potential candidates, and that the Cowboys look like they’re after Wade from the Chargers.

    3.) We’re wasting our time on the Senior Bowl : when it was the time we spent coaching the Senior Bowl last year that helped us in the draft and gives us “extra” time to learn about potentially draftees.

    BAAQI knows all. All hail BAAQI.

  10. Desert9er….. nicely said… finally…LOL

  11. Maybe Mike S. Is the man for the dc. Who knows.

  12. ALRIGHT DESERT9ER THINKS FOR THE ENLIGHTMENT YOU SEEM TO KNOW IT ALL AND HOW CAN I BE NOLAN’S BUTT BUDDY WHEN I’M TRASHING NOLAN.

    I SEE IT’S DUDES LIKE YOU THAT LIKE TO TALK SHIT INSTEAD OF JUST SAYING IT’S NOT LIKE THIS OR THAT, YEAH I DON’T KNOW EVEYTHING AND YOU DON’T EITHER BUT YOU KNOW WHAT, I’M NOT GOING TO GET PISSED OFF AND GET INTO A WAR OF WORDS WITH YOU I RATHER YOU LETTING ME KNOW WHAT YOU THINK I DON’T KNOW AND I WAS JUST MAKING A POINT NOTHING ELSE.

    I DON’T GET INTO THAT INSULTING SHIT AND I DON’T KNOW WHY DUDES LIVE TO GET ON HERE TALK SHIT AND CALL NAMES.

    I’M A NINERS FAN JUST LIKE EVERYBODY ELSE ON HERE AND I DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT THE ESPN REPORT SO CAN YOU FUCKING SPARE ME FOR JUST A MINUTE.

    YOU’RE TALKING LIKE IT SHOULD BE DESERT9ER KNOWS ALL HAIL DESERT9ER, DAMN IT’S LIKE I CAN’T SAY A FUCKING THING ON HERE WITH OUT IT BEING A PROBLEM BUT LET ME TELL YOU KNOW SOMETHING FAM, I AINT IN THE BUISNESS TO BE CALLING SOMEBODY NAMES AND I MADE THAT CLEAR PLENTY OF TIMES AND EXPECIALLY IF I CAN’T SAY IT TO THEIR FUCKING FACE, THAT’S THAT BITCH ASS SHIT TO HIDE BEHIND A KEYBOARD MOUSE AND MONITER AND NEVER HAVE TO APROACH THE DUDE YOU’RE CALLING NAMES.

    BUT ON A LIGHTER NOTE I WISH I WOULD HAD KNOWN THE ESPN REPORT BUT I DID’NT GET TO IT BUT I RATHER BE A NINERS FAN AND NOT HAVE NO BEEF WITH YOU AND NOBODY ON HERE AND THAT’S REAL RAP, BUT CALM DOWN CANNON I WAS JUST SPEAKING MY MIND ON HOW I FELT I’M SORRY I PISSED YOU OFF BUT SAVE THAT BULLSHIT AND LET’S HOLD THIS NINERS THING DOWN AND HOPE FOR THE BEST FOR OUR MUTHA FUCKIN SQUAD SERIOUSLY!

  13. Well i think that if you play in the game you play in the game

  14. does anyone else think that rob morris of the colts would be better fit in a 3-4 than the cover two defense.he is an unrestricted free agent at the end of the year.i went to (footballs future.com) to see all the unrestricted free agents.and there mock draft said we would get dwaye jarrett and get a corner back in the second round.im just telling you guys what they said.

  15. wheres ryan with our mel kiper update?

  16. Tomsula comes to the 49ers from NFL Europe, where he spent last season as the head coach of the Rhein Fire after serving stints as a defensive coordinator and a defensive line coach for the Berlin Thunder and London Monarchs. Like Nolan, Tomsula is a proponent of the 3-4 defensive scheme, which the 49ers plan to use next season. For Tomsula, this will be his first coaching job at the NFL level. Anther good reason y Campo wasn’t hired….If we finna run a 3-4, we cant do it half way…. Nolan is making the right choises… dont trip, let things happen an fall into place….He bringin n da right people… 2 get the most out of his players an system

  17. everybody is picking the colts to win,so that means the bears win the superbowl.it just seems who ever the NFL LIVE team picks to win its the opposite who wins.just a thought….

  18. LOL BAAQI. Please… I’ve been reading this board along with most of the other 49ers forums across the country for many years now. I rarely post. But I couldn’t help it today because it’s shit/uninformed/babboon comments like yours that make it harder for me to pick out and enjoy intelligent comments like those left by jerry, west, corey, MntIdaGold, snowman215, and sf112185 above. I’ve had to sift through your crap for too long now.

    Go ahead, ask questions, but please don’t pollute/spam with your ALL CAPS and highly emotional banter filled with garbage assumptions and semi-facts. You make yourself look like one of those band-wagon niner fans who got a hard-on only during the dynasty years.

  19. i agree i am a die hard niners fan and i would like to read something without hearing uneducated b.s. and profanity thank you for yo comments.

  20. yeah I’d have to agree. BAAQI you need to chill out. People come here for info. I like to check comments to learn of any new developments or some good insight. Don’t take up space with your crap posts. It really is ridiculous. This isn’t YOUR website it belongs to all niner fans, and I guarantee you wouldn’t get disrespected if you’d just stop posting.
    There is nothing wrong with Nolan’s regime. He has all the decision-making duties and he’s brought the team leaps and bounds since he took over. He deserves the benefit of the doubt by now.

  21. What’s up with you dog is this personal with you or something? it’s like your picking me out of everybody else on here and for you to say stuff like this is crazy.

    No bandwagon rider here, and if you were on here checking things out for a long time then you know it’s been 25 years I’ve been a fan and if you look further up jerry agreed with some of what I was saying but it seems like it’s personal and it’s not your place nor that serious for you to pick me out of a colomn full of other niners fans that agree and disagree with each other all the time but all I’m saying is that I want for all of us to see our niners back in the playoffs and go back to the superbowl and maybe be the first to win six.

    But everybody has a opinion and everybody gets pissed off at some things that goes on but you make it seem like I can’t get mad at things and I just want a coordinator in place and not just anybody because if you see what jerry agreed with me at is we didn’t want any left overs to just fill the spot.

    I want the best for our squad and I’m not here to convince you whether I’m a true niners fan or not because that’s like if it’s youself and somebody questioned if you was a true niners fan or not only you know if you’re a true niners fan or not.

    I’m feeling like I’m explaining myself to you which is I should’nt have to but like I said I don’t want no beef, that’s what I’m not on here for, and if I say wrong things in your view then you give your opinion but I did’nt know about the espn report but I reacted from this colomn and I have a right to get pissed off like you or anybody else just do me a favor dog ,don’t judge me and don’t tell me how I can feel and what I can say because everybody that’s on here can say what they want to say whether it’s right or wrong.

    I respect you as a niners fan and for speaking your mind and regardless what you say, I know that is passion that I have and there’s alot of people that’s the same way or even more passionate than I am.

    Now I’ve seen on espnnews on the breaking news that jason garret is the front runner for the cowboys job which keeps jerry jones futher away from norv turner which is good but norv can change his mind and I’ve seen wierd things happen and I want him to stay so what do you think about the D coordinator position and who will end up filling that position?

  22. Yo it’s good to know that yall think I’ve been hot headed about thing and just let me know that but my bad I just want the best for our team and all of us that’s all.

  23. And yall got me all wrong I didn’t mean to come off like that but I come on here for info too because it seems like you can’t get niners news from no other place but I will chill but it was’nt like that.

    You know yall all I’ve got when it comes to the niners and I don’t want to fuck that up I guess I was getting too hot about things but like I said it’s passion and the niners has been my team since I was a little kid.

    I kind of over react about he nolan thing but you’re right Big M he did some good thing with the team and he do deserve the more credit if I don’t have yall then I don’t have any other true niners fans around me but never I was trying to come off like I knew everything and I don’t want to come off in a over reacting way, MY BAD MY BROTHAS.

  24. Big M and dwayne yall post went up before mine but once again I’ll take that but in some ways yall got me wrong.

    My apologies!

  25. The Real Baaqi……. Your fuckin wierd dude.

  26. I wonder who Nolan’s going to hire?

  27. Jesus.

    That’s who we need, anyway.

  28. get ken norton jr as linebackers coach and promote singletary to defensive cordinator and make campo assistant cornerback coach!

  29. or make deon sanders an assistant corner coach>

  30. You might have something going there spank, I forgot what article it was in on here but it said if nolan didn’t hire somebody before the seniorbowl then it just might be singletary.

  31. I could see sanders doing some coaching, he has already gone through the TV part of football now its time he tries to do a little coaching. Here is a question for the rest of you, is SD’s coach still under contract for next year because if not couldnt we get SD 3-4 coordinator that everyone is looking at for head coaching jobs???

  32. The REAL BAAQI is just speaking his mind. He’s pumped but still a Niner fan and as long as he isn’t stooping to name calling. Leave him alone, it’s simply his opinion.

  33. scott,i still beleave that wade phillips has one more year left on his contract.i wouldnt mind having deon sanders as an assistant cornerback coach.anything to help this team get better!and please leave,THE REAL BAAQI ALONE….

  34. http://nba.aolsportsblog.com/2007/01/24/joe-horn-could-be-done-as-a-saint/
    Wasnt able to sleep, just thought i would check some sports out. Do you think Joe Horn should be a niner for a year, maybe teach a few young bucks and maybe he still has some gas in the tank?? Someone tell me what you think?

  35. Eh, it’s not the worst idea. He’s better than an inconsistant Drew Bennett and he has a more team playing mentality than Jerry Porter. I guess I’d take him over what is out there currently, but I wouldn’t be doing backflips if it happened.

    Now Fitzgerald…backflips, all day.

  36. Actually, here is some additional food for thought. Troy Williamson may be released soon. Could he have been utilized wrong? Is there still potential for this young man? Or does he really suck that bad and simply can’t catch?

  37. id rather listen to baaqi rant and rave all day about the niners than listen to those “payton manning is the greatest”jackasses on sportsenter and mke and mike in the morning.

  38. all those guys on mike and mike and sportscenter think the niners still suck,after we beat the seahawks twice,and beat denver(at home)so would you rather hear baaqi talk about the niners or hear those guys talk shit and never give the niners any respect,we’re niner fans not those gay biker face paint wearin raider fans.

  39. by the way, I don’t think nolan is dumb enough to sign a thirty one year old college coach to coach our defense…ha ha stupid raiders…man good luck with that one….why not just have randy moss as coach?

  40. i do apologize i understand that passsion gets involved i have been there as well.

  41. MntldaGold,jerry,TURD FERGUSON and your mother likes it rough, thank you, I thought after yesterday I was really doing something wrong to the point that everything that I was saying and doing on here was wrong.

    I don’t get it I’m not just ranting and raving just to do it and just like MntldaGold and jerry said I’m just speaking my mind and I’m just pumped up about our niners and I was puzzled because I was taking it like it was the wrong thing to do.

    Now I didn’t catch mike and mike in the morning but you see that’s one of the points I was trying to make that the niners still don’t get any respect and the niners had a pretty good season the only thing that I think hurt us is that 2nd lost to the cardinals, otherwise they would have made the playoffs and it seems like after we beat the seahawks twice then they would get some respect.

    That’s another reason why I said we need to get a solid coaching staff so they can win more games and get respect and be one of if not the elite again, but man I was starting to feel not wanted on here, people using my name, and one thing everybody knows that I wouldn’t call anybody names unless I was being called names which should had been a problem in the first place because no matter what anybody says whether it’s right or wrong in anyones opinion we shouldn’t call each other names maybe disagree but not names and a raiders fan came on here and said all kinds of shit and I got trashed more than he did which he barley got trashed so what’s up with that?

    I’m really suprised that I came back after yesterday and for now on I’m not going to say much but I’m glad to see that I’m not all wrong and that I can speak my mind because it was made like I can’t even speak my mind and if so that’s bad!

  42. It’s cool dwayne we all should have passion but you’ll always be good with me doggy.

Leave a Reply

 
