Bill Walsh Day

In a letter sent to season ticket holders, team owners John and Denise York said the NFL granted their request to have players wear a black, football-shaped decal this season with Walsh’s initials inscribed in white letters on their helmets. Coaches will have a similar decal embroidered on their shirts.

The Yorks also said that a moment of silence will be observed in honor of Walsh at the Aug. 13 exhibition opener against Denver. With the cooperation of the NFL and ESPN, plans also are in the works for a tribute to Walsh during the 49ers’ Sept. 10 season opener against Arizona.

On Monday, John York also asked Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger to issue a proclamation for a statewide “Bill Walsh Day.” Details were still being worked out, but team officials said Schwarzenegger was receptive to the idea.

~ by 49ersNews on August 1, 2007.

43 Responses to “Bill Walsh Day”

  1. I’ll be the first to comment, there should be a bill walsh day just like it should be a statue outside the stadium and a big ass plaque on the sidelines of our current and new stadium like the yankees has a babe ruth plaque for players like roger clemens and other to rub before the game KEEP HIS LEGACY ALIVE, MAKE IT HAPPEN

  2. I dig the patch, but in a previous post someone mentioned go with the throw backs all season. I’m all about the throw backs!

  3. Not enough time to get throwbacks approved. Reebok would not allow it, you would have to request them for next year right now. I think the new stadium defiantly needs a statue though

  4. what a great thing to do for a great man im down with the hole thing bill walsh day all the way and i want a patch to wear all season too? GO NINERS 12 days too go till are first preseason game vs denver on monday night espn cant wate GO NINERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i 2nd that statue outside the stadium and some bill walsh stuff in the stadium GO NINERS

  5. Craig33, I agree 100%, we need to keep Bill’s Legacy alive Forever; so NewSchool Fucks like “Bobby Boucher” will get some perspective on 49ers history and tradition! I’m a thirty someone african american and I grew up on ther 49ers as a kid. I don’t need some newschool- uneducated youngster talking shit to me every time I have an opinion of my team. If you ARE A REAL 49ER fan you hate the cowboys with a Passion-end of discussion! I don’t care if our rivarly was stronger 20 years ago, you still hate them. They will always stand in our way. they will always try to take our glory away from our team. They think they are America’s Team. I’m sorry Dallas you are not Hillbillies. Bobby Boucher Grow a dick and move to Dallas and sport your fucking Cowbilly jersey Tripod! Your a new fan with no loyalty and no history. Bring out your tripod and commence masturbation you little weasle!

  6. Blah…Blah…Blah….I hate the cowboys….tripod…Texas. Fuck you ass mouth.

  7. Cowboy hater is right, I was watching nfl network and I saw Deon talking to Jerry Jones, just kissing his ass! Deon was saying Jones would always be his Bossman, and that the Cowboys were americas Team! Then I saw SF 81 say that his team would be in phoenix for the superbowl this year! The whole team was saying superbowl or Bust. I was expecting the 49er training camp which my programming said it would be on, but instead I get this bullshit! Let me tell everyone something , if you buy into Bobby Boucher Philosophy that the Cowboys are not our rivals and they are not a threat to our team winning number 6, then everyone needs a reality check. Comew playoff time those fucks are going to try to reach number 6 before us. I’m sorry but I want to prevent this from happening. I know most people want to win the NFC west, but I want the 49ers to win the Super Bowl. This team is ver comparative to the 81 Bill Walsh team! We were 2-14 in 05 just like in 79, and we had a similar record our second year. that 81′ team won their third year, and no one in the media or anywere expected them to win shit. we are in the same Scenario, and we have a good team just like in 81′. We can do it this year, and win number 6. Do know how much that would piss of SF 81 and those hillbillies. We need to do it 49ers, we need to win the Super-bowl this year and shock the world again!

  8. what is going on here?

  9. Read my comments!

  10. Bill will live forever with us!

  11. I was watching nfl network and I saw Deon talking to Jerry Jones, just kissing his ass! Deon was saying Jones would always be his Bossman, and that the Cowboys were americas Team! Then I saw SF 81 say that his team would be in phoenix for the superbowl this year! The whole team was saying superbowl or Bust. I was expecting the 49er training camp which my programming said it would be on, but instead I get this bullshit! Let me tell everyone something , if you buy into Bobby Boucher Philosophy that the Cowboys are not our rivals and they are not a threat to our team winning number 6, then everyone needs a reality check. Comew playoff time those fucks are going to try to reach number 6 before us. I’m sorry but I want to prevent this from happening. I know most people want to win the NFC west, but I want the 49ers to win the Super Bowl. This team is ver comparative to the 81 Bill Walsh team! We were 2-14 in 05 just like in 79, and we had a similar record our second year. that 81′ team won their third year, and no one in the media or anywere expected them to win shit. we are in the same Scenario, and we have a good team just like in 81′. We can do it this year, and win number 6. Do know how much that would piss of SF 81 and those hillbillies. We need to do it 49ers, we need to win the Super-bowl this year and shock the world again!

  12. This is Bill Walshes day………..Not the fucking Cowboys Day.

  13. The best offensive player should get the Bill Walsh award every year.

  14. screw that, coach of the year award should be the Bill Walsh Award.

  15. I’m just explaining history to some of you young bucks! Read the above and learn.

  16. I appreciate the enthusiasm Hater, but i’m a realist. Realistically the Super Bowl may be a jump, while we need to take a meer step to at least the playoff’s. Championship teams are not built over night my friend, but we are definetly headed to our 6th championship.

  17. So I guess the 81′ championship team was just on accident or a fluke. Bullshit we need to win now or those hillbillies will be jumping up and down with sf 81 before us! We are on our way, but I belive we can do it this year or definitly next. The only weakness I see is at receiver, unless Maxwell and Lelie come through!

  18. Yes, I agree with the Bill Walsh trophy going to the coach of the year. Keep the cowboy hate posts to a minimum since this is a Bill Walsh tribute thread. If we’re all hardcore Niner fans then it’s a no-brainer that we HATE the Cowboys with a passion. But I will say this a major Cowboy fan did call me with his condolences win Bill past away.

  19. The old 49er philosophy was to win now not next year, not two years from now, but now!

  20. Am I in an alternate universe, a legend just past away, the best coach and man in football, but for you to defend the cowboys.(What the fuck). It’s called common courtesy, giving respect were respect is due. The
    hillbillies know about our rivarly and know how much bill and his staff wipped up on them. Those Hillbilly fans hate us with a passion. Dallas hates san francisco, they make fun of us and our people. So its just common courtesy to the Master the best coach in Football history. “The Legend” Those Hillbilly Bastards will always be hated. We need some people over thirty, instead of all thgese newschool youngsters.

  21. Mike Nolan isn’t half as smart as Bill was, there is no way we are winning the Super Bowl this year.

  22. Cool tribute for a great coach!!!!!!

  23. This site should be New Fan 49er site! I’m getting the fuck out of here once and for all! I’ll find a page with true 49er fans newschool and old. Hell, I might create my own! Bobby, do not apply. You and your miserable masturbation clan can have a good life. I’ll say it again Bobby Boucher, grow a dick and get a fucking life punk! I know your a Diehard cowboys fan, so move to Dallas and do all of us a favor- one incher!

  24. Hey man, I’m under 30,and it was easy to be a Niner fan in the 80’s and early 90’s.The Niner’s were dominant as fuck. It has been hard as fuck to be a fan in recent years.(2-14) and (4-12) A true fan rides always, not just when convenient. I can’t help my age playa.

  25. Did you guys notice at the top of this post, that Cow-fucker forgot to change his screen name before he agreed with himself. What a fuck stick.

  26. lol, Yea that’s pretty funny…you guys are some clowns!!!!

  27. I just got done reading that on july 31st practice that Gore took Claytons helmet and ran a few plays until Bishop Harris told Gore to get back to the sideline.Gore is possessed to get 2000 yards this season………What a beast he is!!!

  28. The hand injury is no big deal. Gore does not need reps in the pre-season. He can start opening day and be the same old Frank. Pre-season is for rookies to get reps, and new guys. Frank knows the playbook, and the offense, so missing pre-season isn’t really a big deal. He’ll be practicing in a week or so. That just gives us a bettter feel for what the guys behind him can do.

  29. Cowboyhater wants a new site to post on. He should try stupidhillbillybuttfuckers.com. They might be able to soothe his stupid butt fucking soul. And earlier he said he was an african-american. I think that’s bullshit too. Maybe he said that to make me feel guilty about calling a black guy stupid; and disrespecting everything he says. I don’t think he’s black, and I would put money on it. Just a stupid ass white rube from Texas, running his mouth like someone wanted to hear it.

  30. nfl net sucks did they play inside niners camp yet???

  31. no they jipped up like always

  32. My Direct TV guide on my DVR says Niners Training Camp on Saturday 9AM on August 4th so I guess will see what happenes this time or if they screw us 1 last time…….everyone keep your fingers crossed!

  33. Its a sad day for niner fans to see walsh go…

  34. Whats with the bullshit they did with putting the cowchicks training camp on NFL NETWORK on tuesday when it was sapposed to be the 9ers. but then they didny put the niners in place of the packers.. they just completely left us out of the fucken loop.. they compensated for the cowchicks not being on but didnt for the niners. everyone know that the cowchicks arent goen anywhere this year!!

  35. WHATS UP WITH NFL NETWORK ITS NOT FAIR WHAT THERE DOING WHEN R THE NINERS COMING ON IT MAY SAY SATURDAY ON UR DVR BUT THEY WILL PUT THE COWFAGS ON MAYBE RICH EISEN IS STILL KISSING MCNABB’S BUT OR MAYBE THERE MAKING ANOTHER COMMERICAL. ANY1 KNOW THE PHONE # THERE

  36. Hater are you posting as Ryan now. You stupid, stupid, little man. We can tell it’s you. You uneducated rube. Ryan passed 4th grade. arent goen???

  37. Mr. Bill Walsh was a great human being, he did alot for football and alot for people in general… Mr. Walsh will be greatly missed, but his legacy will live on.

    Med, they’re going to show the 49ers inside training camp on Monday the 6 of Aug…

  38. Hater are you posting as Ryan now? You stupid little man. We can tell it’s you. You uneducated fucking hillbilly. Ryan graduated from grade school. arent goen????

  39. Whoops! Didn’t mean to post the same message twice.

  40. Cowboy Hater is my fav person in here. He writes to himself! In his mind if the 49ers went 1 and 15, but that one win was against the Cowboys…his year would have been made. I have never in my life seen someone like this person. Sometimes I wonder if this dude is a Niner fan. All he or she talks about the Cowboys. He says that he is going to go to a real Niner blog, but he will be back under a different name. I would say anyone coming to this site to ignore him. He has ran off true niner fans on this site. I will give him credit he can write a full sentence now. Bobby Boucher, I think “it” finished 4th grade grammer. Now if “it” could remember to change “its” name!

  41. What a Dip-shit!

  42. Danny is my new Cowboy hater name!!!!!i love agressive cow dong on my tong.emememememememememe a dallas breakfast of champions will a side order of rocky mountain oysters please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  43. Guys, Cowboy hater is some bum using free wireless around the city. It’s clear from the spelling and grammar errors that he is an ignorant chump.

Leave a Reply

 
