Seven More Get the Axe

Waived on Friday were first-year CB Markus Curry and rookies DE Zack Anderson, OL Sean Estrada, QB Luke Getsy, S Jake Patten, DE Darius Sanders and RB Arkee Whitlock.

Source: 49ers.com

~ by 49ersNews on August 31, 2007.

23 Responses to “Seven More Get the Axe”

  1. Whitlock had some Bright spots in preseason but was overshadowed by Robinson Hicks and Claytons play

  2. No surprises so far. Cut Brandon Williams and keep Bryan Gilmore please.

  3. Agreed. So long, Brandon.

    The numbers were against Whitlock, but I’m hoping the Niners can hide him on the practice squad.

    I haven’t seen the news about Cohen’s knee. Any reports?

  4. I’m with Brandon and Adam….I doubt Nolan does it because he drafted Williams, but Gilmore has CLEARLY outplayed Wisconsin alum. Please, Nolan, make room for Clayton. Also, please guys, don’t get too down about last night. We didn’t have our stars playing and the Chargers head coach created the offense we are using so he is going to use that to his advantage. Nolan isn’t stupid…..I just think he is keeping his cards close to his vest.

  5. The fact that we had a +6 turnover ratio; I think losing to San Diego by only 3 isn’t that bad. Alex did get mf’ed by me with the int; and next play should have been an int. Hopefully he’ll shake it off and kill the Cardinals. Brandon Williams proved himself to be a doofus, and should be cut. There is no room on this team for that thug. Isaac is an animal, and if he stays pissed off, like he is, he is going to have a great season. When is B. Moore going to remember how to tackle? He sucked again!

  6. Kwa-lame can’t even block a 3rd string D-lineman! He looked like shit against the Chargers back ups for god sakes!

  7. i’m also in the cut mr.williams camp-hasta la bye bye-i’m with u bobby i too hope bigI stays pissed off all year long-we must crush leinart i wanna see him crumpled understand?!

  8. FUCK EVERY THING TILL THE CARD GAME!!!I WANT TO SEE SOME REAL FOOTBALL!TIRED OF THIS PRESEASON BULLSHIT!!!

  9. PLEASE GUYS TELL ME WHAT HAS GILLMORE DONE BESIDES RUNNING WRONG ROUTES LAST YEAR IF GILLMORE IS HERE THEN JASON HILL WILL NEVER PLAY IF WE KEEP BRANDON WILLIAMS THEN HILL WILL HAVE A CHANCE A PLAY TIME

  10. medford. Gilmore has looked way more consistant than Williams, he is way faster and quicker than Williams, I don’t believe he’s fumbled a punt like Williams, and Gilmore has had a couple really good preseason games unlike Williams. Williams just looks extremely slow and sluggish to me. I’m not saying Gilmore is great or anything but he’s way better than Williams in my opinion.

  11. And i do believe Clayton will make the team. I just think it will be a little hard to keep 4 RB’s and 1 FB. Especially if we keep 6 WR’s. Clayton’s a tough one.

  12. Make Clayton a Wide Receiver! =) Cut Gilmore and Williams!

  13. 49ers Get Down to 53

    The San Francisco 49ers made their final cuts on Saturday, waiving 13 players and placing two on injured reserve to get down to the 53-man roster.
    The 49ers waived eight veterans, two first-year players and three rookies.

    The 49ers waived veterans S Darnell Bing, LB Colby Bockwoldt, T Harvey Dahl, T Damane Duckett, WR Bryan Gilmore, TE Zachery Hilton, DE Sam Rayburn and S Vickiel Vaughn, first-year players FB Zak Keasey and T Tavares Washington and rookies RB Thomas Clayton, TE Zack Herold and LB Mark Washington.

    The 49ers can begin signing players to their eight-man practice squad on Sunday

  14. Yeah, I just saw it myself…here is the link….I can’t say I agree with cutting Gilmore and Clayton.

    http://49ers.com/pressbox/news_detail.php?PRKey=3352

  15. Ryan… I was disappointed to see that we cut Clayton as well. We just didn’t have a place for him on the team, though. Not enough roster spots. As far as Gilmore, he has been extremely unproductive when you look at all of the playing time he has gotten over his career. He just isn’t built like a football player. He is really just a sprinter who happens to be able to catch. I think Brandon Williams has some potential to improve. He needs to get stronger/faster. That was a similar problem Cedrick Wilson had and now he’s doing great in Pittsburgh. I was also a bit disappointed to see Bing released. I knew it was a long shot, but he looked good when he did play, although I would say he is much more of a hitter than a coverage guy. I was also worried that we would cut Jay Moore, but I’m glad they placed him on IR. It’s too bad he has to sit out the year.

  16. SO, do you think we will be lucky enough to get Clayton back or put him on the practice squad? That is something I really pray for because after this season Hicks is done with us and then we will need a number three running back…I think Clayton earned that spot.

  17. id rather have Gilmore than Jacobs cant belive he made r team and i would rather have clayton than hicks also dont agree with u nolan why keep a guy that everytime alex smith throws him the ball it almost gets int he dont even fight for the ball

  18. WE R GOING TO F UP BIG TIME IF WE LET ST LOUIS SIGN SIMEON RICE WHY WOULDNT WE GO AFTER HIM OH YEAH WE GOT A GREAT PASS RUSHER MARQUES DOUGLAS I FORGOT. OH YEAH THIS STRANGE THING HAPPEND WHEN I WAS PLAYING MADDEN 2008 BRANDON MOORE ACTUALLY TACKLED SOME1

  19. Ryan- Yeah I don’t see anyone going after Clayton. He is still a bit of a project and I don’t see him being on any teams’ radar. Hicks was a guy that hung around our practice squad for a while before we brought him up, so I am sure Clayton could possibly be that for us.

    medford- I have never seen Jacobs really fight for a ball and he is virtually non-existant on the field anyways. Jacobs has shown flashes of talent on a few occasions, although I was disappointed in his preseason showing. However, I think he will play better during the season. As far as Simeon Rice, he is in the twilight of his career and I don’t see him being a big threat against us. Staley and Jennings would own him.

  20. What is the love affair for Gilmore? I dont get it. He had a 150 yards last year. He is almost 30. Williams is 23. He at least has a chance of being something more. I wish we would have kept Bing and Clayton.

  21. AGREE WITH U DOUCHBAG I LIKE GILMORE MORE THAN JACOBS THOUGH

  22. Nolan made a big mistake in cutting Gilmore. Williams is one of the slowest sorriest(If that’s even a word) recievers i’ve seen. Well boys don’t plan on any Special Teams highlights this year. I know Gilmore isn’t great but he brings experience and speed to a young recieving core. I can’t stand Williams

  23. i feel the whole team needs to be more physical and bring an attitude of disdain for the opponent impose our will and physically and emotionally spend them

Leave a Reply

 
